POST FROM THE DEVIL ORDERS TAKEOUT

GIVEAWAY: Descendant of the Crane by Joan He // chinese game of thrones

Welcome back, booklings! Gather round our fairy ring of maitake mushrooms -- it's time for a brand new giveaway!

Today, we're giving away a preorder of DESCENDANT OF THE CRANE by Joan He, a Chinese-inspired fantasy about the young princess Hesina who must navigate the Imperial Court and commit treason to seek justice for her murdered father.

Plus, the winner will receive a set of exclusive character cards! ngl I'm super jealous of whoever wins.

I'm so lucky that I've already read this book and I can tell you it absolutely lives up to the Game of Thrones comp! If you're looking for a princess/emperor who has real power, a thrilling new take on court politics, a truly unique YA fantasy -- you do NOT want to miss out on this giveaway!

To enter the giveaway, simply type your email address below! I will send you emails about bonus entries, who won, and more giveaway information.
reload the page if this form isn't visible.
Look at this gorgeous Chinese aesthetic—so swoonworthy!

Once you've entered, you'll receive an email with details on how to redeem bonus entries—so go and check it now! Because you entered, right? riiiiiight?

Psst, while the winner will get some extremely pretty character cards, I've made some wallpapers to share with EVERYONE.
Download Hesina's wallpaper: Desktop / phone

Lilian's wallpaper: Desktop / phone 
Sanjing's wallpaper: Desktop / phone
Love these wallpapers? Please retweet / like on Instagram, and if you use them, show the world and link your friends back to this post.

Please don't repost these images elsewhere! Especially because credits go to Joan He for the original character art and the quotes, and other art elements were used from Creative Market — Watercolor Dusty Plants by Spasibenko Art and Gold Dust Glitter Effects by Studio Denmark.

Blurb (buy links here):
Princess Hesina of Yan has never embraced the responsibilities of the crown, but when her beloved father is murdered, she suddenly inherits an unstable kingdom. Determined to find the killer, Hesina seeks the wisdom of a soothsayer—a treason punishable by death ever since Yan outlawed magic centuries ago.

Using the information illicitly provided by the sooth, and uncertain if she can trust even her family, Hesina turns to Akira—a brilliant, alluring investigator...and a convicted criminal with secrets of his own. With the future of her kingdom at stake, can Hesina find justice for her father? Or will the cost be too high?

A Chinese fantasy perfect for fans of Game of Thrones.
Please note that Joan is sponsoring this preorder, but I reached out to her after already deciding to feature DESCENDANT OF THE CRANE because I'm just that excited for this book!

This giveaway will run until March 23rd, at which point I shall select a winner and have a new giveaway for everyone else. Yay!

This prize will be shipped by The Book Depository or Wordery. If a substitute shipping method cannot be found, we may send you another substitute prize instead.

POST FROM THE DEVIL ORDERS TAKEOUT

GIVEAWAY: Forest of a Thousand Lanterns by Julie C Dao // a bewitching villain protagonist + court intrigue

Welcome back, booklings! Gather round our fairy ring of maitake mushrooms -- it's time for a brand new giveaway!

Today, we're giving away a copy of Forest of A Thousand Lanterns by Julie C Dao, about a young girl Xifeng who will stop at nothing to win the emperor's favour and become the empress ... this budding sorceress will even eat her enemies' hearts. What a chilling villain origin story!

The paperback of FOTL was released in September, and the sequel Kingdom of the Blazing Phoenix will be released on November 6! So this is a great time to join the giveaway.

This giveaway is now closed. However, great news — join my latest giveaway here, for another fantastic prize!


Once you've entered, you'll receive an email with details on how to redeem bonus entries—so go and check it now! Because you entered, right? riiiiiight?

This giveaway is kindly sponsored by Rae @ A New Look on Books:

Need help with your book manuscript? Look no further! Freelance editor, Raven Eckman, offers affordable beta-reading and developmental editing packages, and is open for business. Email rae.anewlookonbooks@gmail.com for her resume, package details, and editing samples. Check out https://www.anewlookonbooks.com for client testimonies and more. It's time to get that manuscript ready to query or publish.


Full blurb (buy links here):
Eighteen-year-old Xifeng is beautiful. The stars say she is destined for greatness, that she is meant to be Empress of Feng Lu. But only if she embraces the darkness within her.

Growing up as a peasant in a forgotten village on the edge of the map, Xifeng longs to fulfill the destiny promised to her by her cruel aunt, the witch Guma, who has read the cards and seen glimmers of Xifeng’s majestic future. But is the price of the throne too high? Because in order to achieve greatness, she must spurn the young man who loves her and exploit the callous magic that runs through her veins — sorcery fueled by eating the hearts of the recently killed. For the god who has sent her on this journey will not be satisfied until his power is absolute.

Set in an East Asian-inspired fantasy world filled with both breathtaking pain and beauty, Forest of a Thousand Lanterns possesses all the hallmarks of masterful fantasy: dazzling magic, heartbreaking romance, and a world that hangs in the balance.
This prize will be shipped by The Book Depository. If you live somewhere TBD doesn't ship and win this giveaway, I will find a substitute shipping method or a substitute prize.

This giveaway will run until December 10th, at which point I shall select a winner and have a new giveaway for everyone else. Yay!

POST FROM THE DEVIL ORDERS TAKEOUT

GIVEAWAY: Girls of Paper and Fire by Natasha Ngan // Asian-inspired fantasy with f/f romance

Welcome back, booklings! Gather round our fairy ring of maitake mushrooms -- it's time for a brand new giveaway!

Today, I'm giving away a preorder of Girls of Paper and Fire by Natasha Ngan, about a village girl Lei who is taken to serve in the Demon King's court and ends up in a forbidden romance.

"That's so nice of--" NO. I am giving this away because I still have to wait TWO WHOLE MONTHS to get my hands on a copy, and if I must suffer, I shall throw this book in your faces so you can ALL suffer with me. MUAHAHA. #nicestdevil

This giveaway is now closed. However, great news — join my latest giveaway here, for another fantastic prize!


Once you've entered, you'll receive an email with details on how to redeem bonus entries—so go and check it now! Because you entered, right? riiiiiight?

Full blurb (buy links here):
Each year, eight beautiful girls are chosen as Paper Girls to serve the king. It’s the highest honor they could hope for…and the most cruel.

But this year, there’s a ninth girl. And instead of paper, she’s made of fire.

In this lush fantasy, Lei is a member of the Paper caste, the lowest and most oppressed class in Ikhara. She lives in a remote village with her father, where the decade-old trauma of watching her mother snatched by royal guards still haunts her. Now, the guards are back, and this time it’s Lei they’re after–the girl whose golden eyes have piqued the king’s interest.

Over weeks of training in the opulent but stifling palace, Lei and eight other girls learn the skills and charm that befit being a king’s consort. But Lei isn’t content to watch her fate consume her. Instead, she does the unthinkable–she falls in love. Her forbidden romance becomes enmeshed with an explosive plot that threatens the very foundation of Ikhara, and Lei, still the wide-eyed country girl at heart, must decide just how far she’s willing to go for justice and revenge.
This prize will be shipped by The Book Depository. If you live somewhere TBD doesn't ship and win this giveaway, I will find a substitute shipping method or a substitute prize.

This giveaway will run until October 15th, at which point I shall select a winner and have a new giveaway for everyone else. Yay!

POST FROM THE DEVIL ORDERS TAKEOUT

GIVEAWAY: Reflection (A Twisted Tale) by Elizabeth Lim // mulan in the underworld!

Welcome back, booklings! Gather round our fairy ring of maitake* mushrooms -- it's my birthdayyyyy on Tuesday and my first giveaway of the year!

*the best mushrooms, go away portobello.

This giveaway is now closed. However, great news — join my latest giveaway here, for another fantastic prize!


---

Today, I'm giving away an absolutely gorgeous hardcover of Reflection: A Twisted Tale, which is the story of Mulan if she went to the underworld to save Shang. Regular readers will know that I never stop talking about Mulan, and I'm so excited for this book!
Full blurb (buy links here):
What if Mulan had to travel to the Underworld?

When Captain Shang is mortally wounded by Shan Yu in battle, Mulan must travel to the Underworld, Diyu, in order to save him from certain death. But King Yama, the ruler of Diyu, is not willing to give Shang up easily. With the help of Shang's great lion guardian ShiShi, Mulan must traverse Diyu to find Shang's spirit, face harrowing obstacles, and leave by sunrise--or become King Yama's prisoner forever. Moreover, Mulan is still disguised as the soldier called Ping, wrestling with the decision to reveal her true identity to her closest friend. Will Mulan be able to save Shang before it's too late? Will he ever be able to trust her again? Or will she lose him--and be lost in the Underworld--forever?
This giveaway is open wherever The Book Depository or Wordery ships. Friends in other places, feel free to leave a comment below to suggest other retailers that work for you -- and in any case, I'll send the winner another bookish gift as a substitute if shipping is an issue.

This giveaway will run until May 15th, at which point I shall select a winner and have a new giveaway for everyone else. Yay!